The Bennett Family

 

We've been back from our trip for a few weeks now and things are starting to settle back to normal... just in time for us to be planning another two trips (one to Reno for Lorelei's and Joey's birthdays, and another to Salt Lake for Joey's mission reunion). Since things are a little more normal, I thought it might be time to update the blog.

Lorelei and I have been having daily playdates with another mommy and baby from our ward. It's helped both of us mommies enjoy the day and get more done  (including a 2 to 3 mile walk each day). It's also helped the babies develop some new talents.

Lorelei's newest talent is sharing. She's getting better sharing toys, but the surprising sharing is her food. About a week ago, I made some delicious homemade bread and Lorelei and her daddy shared a special moment alternating taking bites of her big piece of bread... with her doing the alternating.

More recently, Lorelei has started doing this with me. Last night, she was eating peas for dinner, and I was sitting next to her. She picked up a pea, moved it toward my mouth, and put it in.

We've been slowly trying to teach Lorelei (and ourselves) sign language as it's supposed to help toddlers and parents communicate. So when Lorelei fed me a pea, I told her "thank you" aloud and in sign language (it's the only one we know so far).

The best part was that she kept doing it... for like 8 or 9 peas before her mommy started feeding them to her.

Marilyn
2/24/2009 10:48:55 am

So, I know how to say thank you in sign language (the autism class that comes to the library 2-3 times a week has taught me that much) but now I'm trying to learn Happy Birthday. I've not had much luck even though one of the students just had a birthday on Monday. Oh well, I'll just give her a hug for Happy Birthday! I can't wait!

Reply
Papa
3/10/2009 04:12:34 am

bump

Reply
Alycia
3/22/2009 12:06:29 pm

Hey! I'm so glad I found your blog again. I loved the story about Lorelei and the peas. She is so cute.

Reply



Leave a Reply.


Create a free website with Weebly